Eight honorees receive Academic Staff Excellence Awards

The University of Wisconsin-Madison has recognized eight outstanding members of the academic staff for achievements in leadership, public service, research, teaching and overall excellence.

Chancellor Rebecca Blank, who honored the recipients in a ceremony at the Fluno Center April 12, said, “As these awards richly illustrate, our academic staff members are scientists and scholars, communicators and creators, managers and mentors. They inspire our students, strengthen the work of their colleagues, educate the world and ensure that the mission of this institution never falters.”

Karen Solheim, Clinical Professor, School of Nursing
Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching 

David Tobin, Senior Scientist, Space Science and Engineering Center
Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research: Independent Investigator

Roger Brown, Professor (CHS), School of Nursing
Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research: Critical Support

Mo Fayyaz, Distinguished Director – Greenhouses and Botanical Garden, College of Letters and Science
Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Service to the University

Eve Fine, Associate Scientist, Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute (WISELI), College of Engineering
Wisconsin Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Leadership: College, School or the Larger University Community Level

John Street, Education Program Manager, School of Medicine and Public Health
Wisconsin Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Leadership: Individual Unit Level 

Steve Pomplun, Director of External Relations, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
Robert and Carroll Heideman Award for Excellence in Public Service and Outreach

Susan Carpenter, Outreach Specialist, UW Arboretum
Martha Casey Award for Dedication to Excellence