2021 Academic Staff Excellence Award Winners Announced

Nine academic staff members have been recognized with this year’s UW-Madison Academic Staff Excellence Awards. They have been honored for their achievements in areas such as teaching, research, and service. The winners are listed below. To find out more about them, go to https://news.wisc.edu/2021-academic-staff-excellence-awards/.

Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching – Janet McCray Batzli, Interim Director, Distinguished Faculty Associate, Biology Core Curriculum Program (Biocore)

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Service to the University – Alberto M. Vargas, Associate Director, Faculty Associate, Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies program

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research: Independent Investigator – Pelin Cengiz, Associate Professor (CHS), Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Department of Pediatrics

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research: Critical Research Support – Steven T. Cook, Researcher, Institute for Research on Poverty

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Leadership: Individual Unit Level – Kim Marie Beld, Director, Business Services, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Leadership: College, School, or Larger University Community Level – Manuela Romero, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Engineering

Robert and Carroll Heideman Award for Excellence in Public Service and Outreach – Tom Zinnen, Biotechnology Policy and Outreach Specialist, UW Biotechnology Center

Martha Casey Award for Dedication to Excellence – Jason Scholz, IT Manager, Science Hall

Ann Wallace Career Achievement Award – Kevin J. Niemi, Director of Outreach Programs, Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE)