Academic Staff Institute

by chatmandesign

newasijpgThe Academic Staff Institute is an annual professional development conference for UW-Madison academic staff held during the spring semester.  The first institute was held in 2002 and organized by the Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC). 

This year’s conference will be held on March 15, 2018 at Union South.  The conference is a joint effort between the Madison Academic Staff Network, ASEC, Secretary of the Academic Staff office, and the Academic Staff Assembly.

Time: 7:45-1:30
Cost: $18 (includes a breakfast and lunch)
Registration Link:
Registration Deadline: March 5, 2018
Registration Deals: Join ASPRO ( between January 22 and March 5, 2018, and receive free registration to ASI.  All attendees will receive free membership to the Madison Academic Staff Network for the remainder of the academic year (


7:45 – 8:30 – Registration and Breakfast

8:30 – 8:45 – Welcome

8:45 – 9:40 – Breakout Session 1

9:50 – 10:45 – Breakout Session 2

10:55 – 11:30 – Keynote Presentation, “The Ethics of Infamy” by Sagashus Levingston

11:40 – 12:35 – Breakout Session 3

12:35 – Lunch

2018 Academic Staff Institute Full Program

Keynote Speaker:
“The Ethics of Infamy,” Sagashus Levingston, Founder of Infamous Mothers and a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Wisconsin Madison

Breakout Sessions (55 minutes)

1) Title and Total Compensation Study (Mary Luther, Director of Title and Total Compensation Study; Ron Harris, Faculty Associate, Department of English)

2) Hostile and Intimidating Behavior Policies (Michael Bernard-Donals, Vice Provost for Faculty and Staff; Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff; Patrick Sheehan, Workforce Relations, Office of Human Resources; Steve Smith, Secretary of the Faculty)

3) Lab Managers Community of Practice (Sharon Blohowiak, Senior Research Specialist, Department of Pediatrics; Kevin Galles, Senior Research Specialist, Department of Pediatrics; Kyle Hanson, Associate Researcher, Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium; Nicci Schmidt, Research Program Manager, Waisman Center)

4) Driverless Cars (Peter Rafferty, TSM&O Program Manager, Traffic Operations and Safety Lab, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Jon Riehl, Transportation Systems Engineer, Traffic Operations and Safety Lab, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering)

5) Retirement 101: Sick Leave, Health Insurance, and Other Benefits at Retirement (Thomasin Propson, Benefits Specialist, Office of Human Resources)

6) Meditation Workshop (Esty Dinur, Senior University Relations Specialist, Wisconsin Union)

7) CRISPR Genome Editing (C. Dustin Rubinstein, Director of Genome Editing & Animal Models Core in the Biotechnology Center)

8) 70:20:10 Model for Professional Development/Career Opportunities (Lynn Freeman, Director of Learning and Talent Development, Office of Human Resources)

9) Suicide Prevention (Jean Papalia, QPR Trainer for Safe Communities Madison-Dane County)

10) Email Best Practices (Brian Rust, Communications Director, Office of the CIO and DoIT)

11) Future of the Wisconsin Alumni Association (Sarah Schutt, Chief Alumni Officer and Executive Director, WAA)

12) Indirect Cost Reimbursement (Ann Bourque, PMP Analyst, UW-Madison Budget Office)

13) ASPRO Legislative Update (Kathi Kilgore, Academic Staff Professionals Representation Organization [ASPRO] Lobbyist)

This year, we will also be having a series of short sessions, wherein participants can learn about multiple topics within the same amount of time as 1 full breakout session.

1) UW-Madison Scientist Network (Andrea Bilger, Senior Scientist, Department of Oncology; Mats Johansson, Senior Scientist, Department of Biomolecular Chemistry; Suzanne Ponik, Senior Scientist, Department of Cell and Regenerative Biology; Megan Spurgeon, Associate Scientist, Department of Oncology)

2) Campus Supervisors Network (Kayla Driscoll, Associate Administrative Program Specialist, Department of Chemistry; Rich Gassen, Print Production Manager, DoIT; Kate Skogen, Animal Care Supervisor, Department of Integrative Biology)

3) Community Partnerships and Outreach Staff Network (Libby Bestul, Outreach Specialist, School of Human Ecology; Megan Miller; Assistant Director of Civic Engagement and Communications, Morgridge Center for Public Service)

4) Human Resources Communities of Practice (Lauren Bowers, Talent Recruitment, Assessment and Selection Specialist Advanced, Office of Human Resources; Sarah Carroll, Senior Administrative Program Specialist, Office of Human Resources; Jamie Dregne, HR Specialist, Office of Human Resources; Julie Karpelenia, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Human Resources, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education)

5) Academic Staff Professional Development Opportunities (Kim Bruksch-Meck, Associate Administrative Program Specialist, Department of Family Medicine [PDRC Member]; Jake Smith, Deputy Secretary of the Academic Staff)

6) Servant Leadership Community of Practice (Joe Goss, Senior Business Analyst and Project Manager, DoIT)

7) Plain Language for Effective Communication (Jennifer Sell, English Language Trainer and Instructor, Cultural Linguistic Services)

8) Career Management 101 (Elizabeth Schrimpf, Career and Education Counselor, Division of Continuing Studies)

2017 Academic Staff Institute Program

2016 Academic Staff Institute Program

2015 Academic Staff Institute Program

2014 Academic Staff Institute Program

2013 Academic Staff Institute Program

2012 Academic Staff Institute Program