Area Review Committees

by chatmandesign

Responsibility

The Area Review Committees are charged with reviewing requests for an indefinite appointment  status within its respective area. The committee shall seek any additional information or expertise it needs to reach a decision.  All members of each committee have the right to vote on all candidates. The recommendation of the area review committee is advisory to the dean or director.

More information about indefinite appointment status can be found here.

Membership

Each committee shall consist of nine members. Insofar as possible, each committee shall consist of academic staff members having indefinite status and whose employment-related activities represent the diversity of academic staff.

The members of the Administrative/Student Services/Library Area Review Committee shall include at least two from separate administrative areas, two from separate student services areas and two from separate library areas. The other three committees shall have academic staff members appointed to reflect the instructional, doctoral, and other backgrounds appropriate to academic staff within the area of review.

The committee members shall be appointed by the chancellor or designee in consultation with the Academic Staff Executive Committee. Members will serve three-year terms with one-third of the committee appointed annually; members may be reappointed.

 

Administrative/Student Services/Library Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Philip Dunigan (Chair) – philip.dunigan@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Eliot Finkelstein – eliot.finkelstein@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

William Heiss – waheiss@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Dianna Murphy – diannamurphy@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Greg Putnam – gdputnam@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Tom Tabone – tom.tabone@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Tom Tews – tom.tews@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Cynthia Williams – cwilliam@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Mary Jo Wilson- wilson6@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Biological/Medical Sciences Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Susanne Barnett – susanne.barnett@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Ruthanne Chun – chunr@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Melgardt De Villiers – melgardt.devilliers@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

John Dopp – john.dopp@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Mary Hayney – mary.hayney@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Paul Hutson (Chair) – paul.hutson@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Susan Schaefer – schaefer@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Christopher Snyder – snyder@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Rebecca Stepien – rstepien@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Humanities/Social Sciences Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Erlin Barnard – esbarnard@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Michael Cullinane – mmcullin@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Ritt Deitz – mdeitz@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Christine DeSmet – cdesmet@dcs.wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Martha Gibson (Chair) – migibson@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Patricia Hastings – patricia.hastings@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Andrew Irving – atirving@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Ronald Kuka – rfkuka@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Debra Pierce – debra.pierce@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Physical Sciences/Engineering Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Brian Beard (Chair) – beardb@geology.wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Peter Crump – peter.crump@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Tracy Drier – drier@chem.wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Charles Fry – fry@chem.wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Ilia Guzei – iguzei@chem.wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Michelle Harris – michelle.harris@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Allen Huang – allenh@ssec.wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Brian Jicha – brian.jicha@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Milo Westler – milo@nmrfam.wisc.edu through 6/30/2020