Area Review Committees

by chatmandesign

Responsibility

The Area Review Committees are charged with reviewing requests for an indefinite appointment  status within its respective area. The committee shall seek any additional information or expertise it needs to reach a decision.  All members of each committee have the right to vote on all candidates. The recommendation of the area review committee is advisory to the dean or director.

More information about indefinite appointment status can be found here.

Membership

Each committee shall consist of nine members. Insofar as possible, each committee shall consist of academic staff members having indefinite status and whose employment-related activities represent the diversity of academic staff.

The members of the Administrative/Student Services/Library Area Review Committee shall include at least two from separate administrative areas, two from separate student services areas and two from separate library areas. The other three committees shall have academic staff members appointed to reflect the instructional, doctoral, and other backgrounds appropriate to academic staff within the area of review.

The committee members shall be appointed by the chancellor or designee in consultation with the Academic Staff Executive Committee. Members will serve three-year terms with one-third of the committee appointed annually; members may be reappointed.

 

Administrative/Student Services/Library Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Philip Dunigan (Chair) – philip.dunigan@wisc.edu

Eliot Finkelstein – eliot.finkelstein@wisc.edu

William Heiss – waheiss@wisc.edu

Dianna Murphy – diannamurphy@wisc.edu

Greg Putnam – gdputnam@wisc.edu

Tom Tabone – tom.tabone@wisc.edu

Tom Tews – tom.tews@wisc.edu

Cynthia Williams – cwilliam@wisc.edu

Dianna Xu – dianna.xu@wisc.edu

Biological/Medical Sciences Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Ruthanne Chun – chunr@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Melgardt De Villiers – melgardt.devilliers@wisc.edu

John Dopp – john.dopp@wisc.edu

Mary Hayney – mary.hayney@wisc.edu

Paul Hutson (Chair) – paul.hutson@wisc.edu

Susan Schaefer – schaefer@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Christopher Snyder – snyder@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Rebecca Stepien – rstepien@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Orly Vardeny – orly.verdeny@wisc.edu

Humanities/Social Sciences Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Erlin Barnard – esbarnard@wisc.edu

Michael Cullinane – mmcullin@wisc.edu

Ritt Deitz – mdeitz@wisc.edu

Christine DeSmet – cdesmet@dcs.wisc.edu

Martha Gibson (Chair) – migibson@wisc.edu

Patricia Hastings – patricia.hastings@wisc.edu

Andrew Irving – atirving@wisc.edu

Ronald Kuka – rfkuka@wisc.edu

Physical Sciences/Engineering Area Review Committee

Current Committee Members

Brian Beard (Chair) – beardb@geology.wisc.edu

Peter Crump – peter.crump@wisc.edu

Tracy Drier – drier@chem.wisc.edu

Charles Fry – fry@chem.wisc.edu

Ilia Guzei – iguzei@chem.wisc.edu

Michelle Harris – michelle.harris@wisc.edu

Allen Huang – allenh@ssec.wisc.edu

Brian Jicha – brian.jicha@wisc.edu

Milo Westler – milo@nmrfam.wisc.edu