Districting and Representation Committee

The Districting and Representation Committee (DRC) is charged:

  1. With reviewing election and districting processes and rules to ensure that the academic staff members may exercise their institutional governance rights in the most effective, equitable, and efficient manner.
  2. With periodic review of each academic staff district. The purpose of this review is to ensure that each district meets the requirements of the Academic Staff Policies and Procedures (ASPP), as stated in 13.02.C13.02.D, and 13.06.A.1.
  3. To hear appeals from individuals or groups presenting a reasonable basis for assignment to a different district or to a new district.
  4. To, when needed, review and recommend action to the Assembly on any of the following issues:
    1. Substantial changes in the size or general composition of individual districts; substantial changes in the guidelines that address election and districting issues, which include 13.02.C.13.02.D. and 13.06.A.1. of the ASPP; and
    2. Substantial changes in the election process. These changes include, but are not limited to, changing the date of elections, changing the notification process for candidates, changing the notification process for voters, and changing the content of the ballot. Substantial changes do not include either changing the graphic format of the ballot or adding additional notifications of an upcoming election.
  5. To, when needed, review any of the following issues:
    1. Changes in procedure to improve the equity or efficiency, or both, of the districting process; and
    2. Changes in procedure to encourage academic staff members’ participation in elections and academic staff governance activities in general.
  6. To report to the Assembly before each election, as required in 13.02.C.4.


DRC typically meets monthly, on the first Friday of the month from 12:30pm – 1:30pm, during the academic year. Meetings are open to the public.

DRC Agendas and Minutes

There are no upcoming events.


Six members elected by the Academic Staff Assembly to serve three-year terms. One third are elected each year. Membership is limited to two consecutive full terms. If there are no academic staff willing to serve in the departing member’s place, the member may serve an additional term. Eligibility for election is reinstated one year after a member vacates their seat on the committee. Contact any committee member if you have questions, comments, or suggestions. For more detailed membership information, click here.

Placeholder headshot

Megan Ackerman-Yost

Position title: Chair

Email: megan.ackermanyost@wisc.edu

Becky Beebe

Email: rebecca.beebe@wisc.edu

Placeholder headshot

Max Coller

Email: max.coller@wisc.edu

Taryn Conaway

Email: taryn.conaway@wisc.edu

David Toland

Email: detoland@wisc.edu

Cynthia Waldeck

Email: waldeck2@wisc.edu