Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC)

by chatmandesign

Responsibilities

The primary function of ASEC is to act as the day-to-day administrative executive committee for the Academic Staff Assembly and for the academic staff at large. To be effective, ASEC considers it important to maintain a close relationship with the Assembly and with all academic staff. ASEC, together with the Academic Staff Assembly, works to facilitate communication with other governance groups and with the chancellor, provost and other campus administrators on matters concerning governance and academic staff.

ASEC considers matters referred to it by the Assembly and its standing committees, the UW-Madison administration, UW System administration, the Board of Regents, the University Committee, the Faculty Senate, various campus offices (Budget Planning and Analysis, Human Resources/Academic Personnel, Equity and Diversity Resource Center, etc.), and individual members of the academic staff. When timing permits, matters of significance are taken up by the Assembly. However, when decisions must be made within time frames that do not allow for Assembly input, they are made by ASEC and reported to the Assembly at its next meeting.

Meetings

ASEC customarily meets from 2:00 to 4:30 p.m. on most Thursdays during the academic year and two or three times a month in the summer.

Membership

Nine members elected by the academic staff at large to serve three-year terms. One-third are elected each year. Membership on ASEC is limited to two consecutive three-year terms.  Eligibility for election to ASEC is reinstated one year after a member vacates his or her seat on the committee.

Current Year ASEC Agendas and Minutes

2018 – 2019 Meeting Dates 

Contact any committee member if you have questions, comments, or suggestions.

 

Committee Members

Bruno Browning – browning@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Donna Cole- dmcole@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Aaron Crandall – aaron.crandall@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Jenny Dahlberg – jenny.dahlberg@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Beth Giles – brgiles@education.wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Mallory Musolf (Vice Chair)- musolf@wisc.edu through 6/30/2020

Kevin Niemi (Chair) kjniemi@wisc.edu through 6/30/2019

Deb Shapiro – dsshapiro@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021

Lindsey Stoddard Cameron – lindsey.stoddardcameron@wisc.edu through 6/30/2021