2018 Academic Staff Excellence Award Winners Announced

Nine academic staff members have been recognized with this year’s UW-Madison Academic Staff Excellence Awards. They have been honored for their achievements in areas such as teaching, research, and service. The winners are listed below. To find out more about them, go to https://news.wisc.edu/2018-academic-staff-excellence-awards/.

Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching – Araceli Alonso, Senior Lecturer, Department of Gender and Women’s Studies

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Service to the University – James Maynard, Senior Instructional Specialist, Lecture Demonstrator, Department of Chemistry

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research: Independent Investigator – Michael Shortreed, Senior Scientist, Department of Chemistry

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research: Critical Research Support – Gay Thomas, Director of Stakeholder Engagement, Wisconsin Network for Research Support, School of Nursing

WAA Award for Excellence in Leadership: Individual Unit Level – Mike Kinderman, Director of Residence Hall Facilities, Division of University Housing

WAA Award for Excellence in Leadership: College, School, or Larger University Level – Binnu Palta Hill, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, School of Business

Robert and Carroll Heideman Award for Excellence in Public Service and Outreach – Margaret Mooney, Director of Education and Public Engagement, Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies, Space Science and Engineering Center

Martha Casey Award for Dedication to Excellence – John Heim, Senior Information Processing Consultant, Department of Mathematics

Ann Wallace Career Achievement Award – James Delehanty, Executive Director, Institute for Regional and International Studies